Civilian peacekeeping forces to aid BSKE, special elections

DUMAGUETE CITY – The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) on Thursday cited several barangay civilian security forces for their contributions to helping maintain peace and order in their communities as they will also be utilized for the upcoming elections in Negros Oriental.
DILG 7 (Central Visayas) Director Leocadio Trovela, who led the awarding held at the convention center in this capital city, said recognizing these civilian groups is timely because of the upcoming two elections in the province.
"Timing-wise, we would like to congratulate the province of Negros Oriental and the DILG family for recognizing the efforts of the barangay tanods, barangay peace and order committees, barangay anti-drug abuse councils, and the Lupong Tagapamayapa for maintaining peace in the province," Trovela said in an interview.
Aside from the Oct. 30 BSKE, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) is also gearing up for the special elections in the province's 3rd district in December.
Trovela said it is fitting to give due credit to these groups considering that the government and law enforcement units alone cannot successfully undertake peacekeeping efforts.
Their roles were also significant in the government's fight against illegal drugs and other forms of criminality, said Col. Ronan Claravall, acting police provincial director.
"These are our front-liners in our fight against illegal drugs and other crimes. Since they are from the barangays, they know the grassroots and the people in their communities. They are the ones who inform us of what is happening on the ground," Claravall said in part Filipino.
Awarded 1st place for the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards were Barangay Nabago in Zamboanguita for the 4th- to 6th-class municipality category (P70,000); Barangay Puhagan in Valencia for the 1st- to 3rd-class municipality category (P70,000); and Barangay Villareal in Bayawan City for the Component Cities category (P80,000).
For the Barangay Anti-Drug Abuse Councils, named as 1st placers were San Jose (4th- to 6th-class municipality); Vallehermoso (1st- to 3rd-class municipality); and Bayawan City for the Component City category.
The Barangay Peace and Order Council winners are Zamboanguita (4th- to 6th-class municipality); Valencia (1st- to 3rd-class municipality); and Dumaguete City for the City Category.
The Barangay Tanod Team winners are Zamboanguita, (4th- to 6th-class municipality); Sta. Catalina (1st- to 3rd-class municipality); and Dumaguete City for the City Category.
Second and third place and consolation winners were also given cash incentives and plaques of recognition. (PNA)

Last Modified: 2023-Sep-08 08.44 +0800