E-bike ban on major NCR roads starts April 15 – MMDA

["https:\/\/\/story.php\/49467","E-bike ban on major NCR roads starts April 15 \u2013 MMDA","RNNationwide"]
GET OFF FROM NATIONAL ROAD. An electronic tricycle (e-trike) traverses Recto Avenue in Manila on Feb. 29, 2024. Starting April 15, e-trikes, e-bikes, and other electric motor vehicles are banned on major roads across the National Capital Region. PHOTO: Yancy Lim/Philippine News Agency
MANILA – The ban on e-bikes on major roads in the National Capital Region (NCR) will start on April 15, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) said Monday.
"Walang bago dito. I-eenforce na po ng MMDA ang prohibitions na ito dahil marami na tayo nakikitang insidente ng aksidente, paglabag sa mga traffic rules and regulations at 'di na po natin aantayin na dumami pa at lumala pa ang sitwasyon bago tayo kumilos," MMDA chair Romando Artes said at a press briefing.
(There is nothing new in this regulation. The MMDA will enforce the prohibitions because we can see that the number of accidents involving them are increasing as well as disregard for traffic rules and regulations. We will not wait for this to worsen before we make our move,)
Data from the MMDA Road Safety Unit show that there were 907 e-bike, e-trike, and e-scooter-related road crash statistics in Metro Manila in 2023, nearly triple from the 309 accidents listed last 2019.
Violators will be fined P2,500 while their units will also be impounded if the users cannot present a driver's license upon apprehension, Artes said.
He added that the implementing rules and regulations (IRR) would be released before April 15.
"We want to come up (with the IRR) in a week or two para magkaron pa tayo ng (so that we will have) information campaign taking into consideration the suggestions and position papers," he said.
(We want to come up with the IRR in a week or so that we will have information campaign taking into consideration the suggestions and position papers.)
Under MMDA Regulation No. 24-022, e-trikes, tricycles, pedicabs, pushcarts, and "kuligligs" will also be prohibited from traversing national roads, circumferential, and radial roads in the NCR.
The prohibition will be enforced on the following NCR roads under the jurisdiction of the MMDA:
  • C1: Recto Avenue
  • C2: Pres. Quirino Avenue
  • C3: Araneta Avenue
  • C4: EDSA
  • C5: Katipunan/CP Garcia
  • C6: Southeast Metro Manila Expressway
  • R1: Roxas Boulevard
  • R2: Taft Avenue
  • R3: SLEX
  • R4: Shaw Boulevard
  • R5: Ortigas Avenue
  • R6: Magsaysay Blvd./Aurora Blvd.
  • R7: Quezon Ave./Commonwealth Ave.
  • R8: A. Bonifacio Ave.
  • R9: Rizal Ave.
  • R10: Del Pan/Marcos Highway/McArthur Highway
  • Elliptical Road
  • Mindanao Avenue
  • Marcos Highway (PNA)

Last Modified: 2024-Mar-31 19.46.37 UTC+0800